allie + race for the rescues

7 Nov

Allie

photo 1

Several months after losing our beloved Golden Retriever Annie, my family rescued another 4-year old Golden named Allie. She had been kept on the side of a house in a cage for 4 years, and we’re pretty sure she was just used for breeding. When she first got to the rescue, the founder told us her ears had been in the worst condition she had ever seen. They immediately started giving her medication to treat her infected ears and any other problems that had been neglected.

The first time I met her, she belly crawled over to me and I instantly started crying. I felt so sorry for her because of how terribly she was treated, but I knew that she was going to have the best rest of her life with us.

When we first brought her home, she was absolutely terrified of everything and her coat was so thin you could see her skin through it. She didn’t even know how to play, use the stairs or doggy door, and while she has gotten to be a pro at the stairs & doggy door, she still needs a little work on the playing part. After a month or so, her coat also came in and it is now super healthy & thick!

photo 4 photo 2

Allie is so appreciative of everything… the belly rubs she had never gotten before, the freshly cooked chicken chopped up for dinner, the constant love and attention..she soaks it all up and deserves every bit of it! I can honestly say that she is the sweetest dog I have ever met. In return, I am also so appreciative of Allie and what she has done for my life. Every day I cannot wait to get home to her! No matter what mood I’m in or what kind of day I’ve had, she always makes it better. I truly cannot imagine my life without her.

photo 5 photo 3

photo 5 photo 3

photo 4

So in honor of my precious Allie, on Sunday, November 10th I am running in the Race for the Rescues 10k at the Great Park in Irvine. All of the donations will be used to help save the lives of dogs, cats and horses and to help them find their forever homes. Donations are also used to prevent cruelty to farm animals and providing important programs to the community, such as veterinary care for pets of low-income families and free spay & neuter clinics (source).  I could not think of a better reason to get up early on a Sunday and run 6.2 miles!

For those of you who love to run, please come join me and sign up here.

photo 1

Leave a Reply

