pumpkin seed + pistachio pesto

1 Nov

Happy Halloween! 

photo

Last night I tried a new recipe from the Tone It Up Nutrition Plan that looked insanely good when Karena posted it last week. I am always looking for new healthy recipes to add a little variety and this one is definitely going to work itself into the rotation. Not gonna lie, the kelp noodles got a little old after a while so I next time I will eat them in small quantities, but it was really the pesto that stole the show. I am a sucker for anything with pesto so this was right up my alley! I did tweak their recipe (which is why I am posting it) to make it more my own. The original doesn’t call for pistachios or Parmesan, but I thought they made a great addition! I served it up with a side of sea scallops, broccoli and salad. It was the perfect weeknight meal!

Pumpkin seed + Pistachio Pesto

photo 1 photo 2

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups fresh basil

3/4 cup spinach

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

1/4 cup roasted & salted pistachios

Juice of 1 lemon

3 small cloves of garlic

3-4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (depending on the consistency you like)

3-4 tbsp freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Salt + freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions

Combine all ingredients except the Parmesan cheese & olive oil in a good processor. Slowly add in the extra virgin olive oil until it reaches your desired consistency. Put into a serving bowl and stir in grated Parmesan cheese.

photo 4

Buon Appétito!

7-Miler

After work today I went for a great 7-mile run! Now I can eat as much candy as I want 🙂 Well, that’s my logic anyways…

photo

Have a great night!!

Leave a Reply

