cucina + pumpkin bars

5 Oct

For the past 6 years, my brother has lived in Mammoth Lakes. He just recently moved back home to Orange County, so in honor of his homecoming I organized a dinner with a small group of our friends to celebrate! Seven of us all met at Cucina Enoteca at the Irvine Spectrum, which is one of my all-time favorite restaurants! We ordered a few bottles of wine to start and enjoyed some freshly baked bread and butter.

photo 1

How cute is her top by the way??

photo 2

Then it was time for the main courses! Most of the boys ordered lasagna, which is one of the best I have ever had, and two others ordered the yellowtail, which is also delicious if you’re not allergic like me! My friend Kristen ordered the short rib papardelle , which was absolutely melt-in-your-mouth insane! The short ribs are perfectly tender and the pasta is freshly made in-house.

photo 3

I wasn’t super hungry last night so I opted for something light. I ordered the farmer’s chopped salad and the farmer’s market vegetable, heriloom broccoli steamed and then grilled with sea salt and chili flakes. The salad was so light and fresh and the broccoli was perfectly cooked! It was the perfect night with amazing friends!

photo 4 photo 5

Today

This morning I woke up, had some coffee, and got straight to baking! I decided to whip up some of the Trader Joe’s pumpkin bars I recently bought, and from the smell of them, it’s safe to say that was an excellent decision!

photo 1

Plus a stick of unsalted butter

Hope you all have a great Saturday everyone!!!

 

2 Responses to “cucina + pumpkin bars”

  1. Grateful Runner Girl (@Grateful_Runner) October 7, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

    I just stumbled upon your blog for the first time and I love it! I just made these pumpkin bars from TJs but didn’t have a pan so I had to make one HUGE cookie. Amazing either way.

    • CucinaBuona October 7, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

      Thank you so much! You have no idea how much I appreciate you saying that! That’s actually a great idea! Maybe top it off with a nice scoop or four of vanilla ice cream??

Leave a Reply

