slacking + “creamed” spinach

25 Sep

So far this week, I feel like I have been slacking a little in terms of my blog and workouts. I made out a tentative training schedule for Big Sur, which is now less than two months away, but didn’t quite get in those runs I had planned. I got in a good run last night which reminded me how much I NEED running in my life. No matter what a run always makes me feel better. I have had some of my best  ideas while on a run. It is the best stress reliever and really does help keep me sane. I don’t know what I would do without it!

With all that being said, and as I previously mentioned, I had some awesome meals this past weekend. (I will slowly but surely be posting them as soon as I can.) This spinach recipe is one of the highlights and I promise that you will not miss the cream one bit! It is creamy and indulgent but without being so rich that you can only have a few bites. The crispy topping is the perfect texture contrast to keep you going back, bite after bite. I have included a few substitutions that can be made in order to make it a little more healthy, but if you’re really feelin’ it, I say splurge on the original. It isn’t that bad, but if you really want to be good, save it for a weekend indulgence like I do!

photo 1 photo 2

photo 5 photo 1

photo 2 photo 3

Almond-Milk Creamed Spinach

Ingredients:

Four 5-ounce bags of baby spinach

4 tbsp. unsalted butter (Earth Balance butter works, too)

3 tbsp. all-purpose flour (Cup4Cup would be a great gluten-free sub here)

2 shallots, thinly sliced

2 cups unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano or Cojita Cheese

Salt + pepper

3/4 cup panko bread crumbs or gluten-free bread crumbs

2 tbsp. finely chopped marcona almonds

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 F.

In a large saucepan, heat 2-3 tbsp. of extra virgin olive oil over medium heat. Add the spinach by the handful, allowing each handful to wilt before adding more. When the spinach is wilted, drain it, pressing out as much water as you can. Wipe out the saucepan.

Melt 2 tbsp. butter in the same saucepan. Add shallots and cook over medium heat until softened. Stir in the flour and cook for 1 minute. Add the almond milk and simmer until very thick, whisking occasionally, 5 minutes. Stir in the cheese and spinach. Season with salt and pepper. Spoon into a baking dish.

In a small bowl, melt the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter. Stir in the panko crumbs and almonds. Sprinkle over the spinach and bake for 10-15 minutes, or until golden brown. Serve and enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Food & Wine.

photo 4

Buon Appétito!

Leave a Reply

