brief hiatus.

23 Sep

It felt really good to take a little brief hiatus from technology this weekend. However, I felt it was really important to share a little bit of some of the ridiculously good food I had this weekend!

My weekend was full of relaxation, good workouts, tons of good food, and lots of quality family time. I also have to say that this weekend I had some of the best meals I have had in a long time! Friday night’s dinner consisted of sautéed sea bass, butternut squash mac and cheese, “creamed” spinach with a panko and Marcona almond crust, asparagus and side salad. I really don’t even know where to begin with this one, but I will be sure to post these recipes in the near future.

photo

Saturday started off with an amazing workout followed by an even more amazing and much-needed massage. I spent the next couple hours preparing a few variations of a recipe I am testing out for next weekend. (More information on that to follow). The crostini I came up with seemed to be a huge hit with my taste-testers, so I am excited that it turned out how I wanted!

photo

I woke up bright and early Sunday morning to participate in my 10th Race for the Cure. I have been doing this since I was a freshman in high school in honor of young girl who played volleyball at my high school and club, and  tragically lost her life in her senior year of high school. It is always an honor to run in her memory.

This was also Allie’s first race and she did fabulous! She was exhausted when we got home.

photo

(Doesn’t she look so cute in her scarf?!)

Sunday night’s dinner was also one for the books. Turkey burgers with jack cheese on gluten free buns with pomegranate molasses ketchup, mashed avocado with sea salt & lime, and rosemary caramelized onions. Sweet potato fries and broccoli slaw were served on the side. I will also be posting these recipes ASAP.

photo

Hope you all had a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

