9-mile PR + my favorite meatloaf

19 Sep

I got off work around 10 am and headed to the start of my favorite 9-mile loop. The first mile of my route is pretty flat with some downhill, which allows me to have a nice & easy warm-up, but the next 2.5 miles are all uphill. It was much hotter than I expected it to be at 10 am, so it was definitely a sweaty run. Todays run felt a lot harder than it normally does. I thought about giving up and turning around many times, but was really glad I didn’t because I set a 9-mile PR. I was shocked because I really wasn’t feeling it from the very beginning, but apparently I was running much better than I felt.

photo

I love having a long run done before noon! Typically, I don’t really eat much after long runs, and today was no exception. I had a lunch date at Whole Foods but unfortunately couldn’t eat anything until almost 1:30. I took a salad to eat at home and added some hemp hearts. Surprisingly, it really hit the spot!

photo

So far, I feel like every post includes one of my “favorite” recipes. It might seem a little odd that I have so many favorites, but I really do just love food that much! This recipe has been a staple at my house for a long time now. Even though we eat this turkey meatloaf at least once a week or every other week, I never seem to get sick of it. It is filled with some of my favorite ingredients so maybe that has something to do with it! It is also a recipe from one of my favorite chefs, Giada De Laurentiis. Feel free to add copious amounts of feta cheese, sun-dried tomatoes and basil like I do!

photophoto

Without cheese

 

photo

Turkey Meatloaf + Feta & Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Ingredients:

Vegetable cooking spray

1/2 cup plain breadcrumbs (I use gluten free Italian breadcrumbs I found at Whole Foods)

1/3 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley

1/3 cup chopped basil

1/4 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil (I always add more)

2 gloves garlic, minced, optional

2 eggs at room temperature, lightly beaten

1/4 cup olive oil (sometimes I also use the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes for more flavor)

1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese (once again, I always add more)

Salt + pepper to taste

1 pound ground turkey, preferably dark meat

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 F. Spray a 9-by-5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, stir together breadcrumbs, parsley, basil, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic, eggs, olive oil, feta cheese and salt + pepper. Add the meatloaf and gently stir to combine, careful not to overwork the meat.

Carefully pack the mixture into your greased loaf pan and baked until dark golden brown, about 45 minutes. (I typically drizzle some olive oil on top to keep it moist and to get a nice crust). Remove from the oven and let rest for 5 minutes. Use a paper towel to remove any fat that may have accumulated on the top. Slice & serve.

Recipe adapted from Giada De Laurentiis

photo

Buon Appétito!

Leave a Reply

