ojai day 1.

15 Sep

This weekend I am lucky enough to be staying at the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa. I cannot even begin to tell you how beautiful it is here. Maybe these pictures will give you a better idea, but they don’t even come close to doing it justice.

I arrived on Saturday around 1:00, a little later than I had planned, and checked into my gorgeous room. As soon as I walked in, I felt like I never wanted to leave. The rooms are extremely spacious and GORGEOUS. You are welcomed with seasonal fruit on the table, along with various booklets and pamphlets on all the amazing amenities Ojai Valley has to offer.

My room is spotless and the high king-size bed is incredibly cozy with lots of fluffy pillows. They also have the room stocked with every single toiletry item you could possibly want, including a dental kit, nail kit, and shaving kit. The last item that I am impressed with is a Keurig machine with decaf & regular coffee and green tea. And of course, all the fixings.  (They also equip you with a pretty awesome spa robe.)

photophoto

photophoto

photo

The first thing we did was go to Cafe Verde, the cafe located in the spa area that is filled with healthy juices, salads, wraps and more! When you sit down, they greet you with a pitcher of fresh cucumber water and rosemary popped corn, which is fabulous by the way! I ordered the Chopped Chicken Salad and Mother’s Joy juice, which was a blend of cucumber, beet, pear, carrot & ginger. My salad and juice hit the spot and were so refreshing in this 90+ degree weather!

photophoto

Afterwards, we walked around the grounds and I was able to visit their herb garden, where they get their fresh herbs for all of their restaurants and cafes. They have a beautiful 18-hole golf course, artist cottage & apothecary, four different pools, tennis courts, plus so much more. They literally have everything here! (source)

photophoto

photophoto

There are four weddings being held here this weekend, and one of them is right outside my room! The set-up is gorgeous, and they were just adding fresh flowers to the chairs down the aisle right after I snapped these pictures! (Just a little side note, this is where Jimmy Kimmel got married! Not necessarily this actual spot, but here at the resort!)

photophoto

Once we were done walking the grounds, we went to the pool for a little over an hour. When we got back, my uncle received a complimentary wine and cheese platter with various dried fruit and honey as a thank-you for his 10th visit. It was quite the treat! We enjoyed it outside on our private patios as the guests started to arrive for the weddings.

For dinner, I made us a reservation at Maravilla, their fine-dining restaurant here at Ojai Resort. As soon as we were seated, we were greeted with parmesan & herb crisps and ciabatta cheese bread. They also brought us butter with sea salt and lavender. For my first course, I ordered the watermelon salad with heirloom tomatoes, burrata, pistachio pesto, blood orange vanilla honey, and a balsamic reduction. This salad was one of the best I have ever had! I could have eaten three more servings. For my main course, I ordered the striped bass that was served with celeriac puree, wilted arugula, maitake mushrooms, grapefruit caper relish, and romenesco sauce (source). I cannot say enough good things about this dish. They gave me a very generous portion of sea bass, which is very rare considering most places give you a tiny portion of fish (in my experience). The celeriac puree was creamy and luxurious, while the caper relish was light & fresh to create the perfect balance. The romenesco sauce was the finishing touch that really made it out-of-this-world!

photophoto

photo

We then headed over to the pub to grab a quick nightcap before heading to bed! It was the perfect way to finish an amazing day!

Leave a Reply

