sayonara, asics. well not really..

31 Aug

photo

It took every ounce of willpower not to take these bad boys out for a test drive yesterday immediately after I bought them. I had already done my workout for the day so I was trying not to be too obsessive..

For the past three years I have only worn Asics Gel Kanayos and I loved them. They gave my beaten-down volleyball ankles just the right amount of support. However, as I have gotten more into running over the past several months, I have seen more and more about Mizuno running shoes. I tend to be very set in my ways and I guess you could say somewhat opposed to change, but I figured I would give these bad boys a shot. Sometimes, change can be a very good thing, but in this case, it definitely was not. My dogs were barking before I even hit mile 2! Looks like I am an Asics lifer!

I woke up a little later than I wanted for my run this morning, but braved the heat and humidity despite my better judgment. (Maybe this is just me, but I get more excited about purchasing new running shoes than pretty much anything else.) It was a hot and sweaty run, but felt so good when it was over. There is nothing like a runner’s high!

photo

 

What made today’s run even better was knowing I had these delicious Paleo Blueberry Muffins waiting for me when I got home. The original recipe calls for lemon juice and zest, which I am sure would be delicious and bright, however, I have a massive sweet tooth and wanted to keep them as sweet as possible. I omitted the lemon zest and juice, and instead added a little bit more vanilla extract and a few dashes of cinnamon, which proved to be a great addition! I thought it added some warmth to the recipe! I also only used two whole eggs and four egg whites just to make them lighter. Next time, I want to add some ripe bananas and walnuts for a banana nut muffin!

photo

Paleo Blueberry (Lemon) Muffins

6 eggs

1/2 cup of melted butter or coconut oil (I used 1/4 cup of coconut oil & 1/4 cup of earth balance butter)

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/4 cup Grade B maple syrup (agave or honey (if you’re not vegan) would be appropriate substitutes)

1 lemon, juice and zest

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 cup of blueberries

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Whisk the eggs, butter, vanilla, maple syrup, lemon juice and zest together in a large bowl. Sift in the coconut flour, sea salt, and baking soda and stir until just combined. (Don’t overwork your batter.)

In a muffin tin, scoop 1/4 cup of batter into each lined muffin cup and bake for 35-40 minutes. (I use an ice cream scoop for all of my cupcakes, muffins, cookies, etc. to ensure that they all bake evenly.) If your oven runs hot, cut the cook time to 25-35 and make sure to test with a toothpick.

I like to heat mine up for 30 seconds in the microwave with a healthy spread of Earth Balance butter.

photo

Buon Appétito!

Leave a Reply

